Essie Sable Collar

Trying out a different way of pulling my images from Instagram.

Swatched Essie Sable Collar for this week’s nails. It’s from Essie’s winter 2013 collection, and I’ve had it for a long time but just somehow never felt like wearing it.

 

It didn’t photograph especially well for me, unfortunately, and I didn’t have a chance to take another photo before it chipped (oops), but it’s kind of a metallic puce. Essie calls it a “luxurious pearlescent cocoa plum.” I suppose that’s a fancier way of saying that it’s puce (purplish brown) with a bit of subtle pinkish shimmer. It’s so subtle that I can hardly see it in some light. Not a bad color, though. When the shimmer actually shows, it gives Sable Collar a nice lit-from-within look.

 

 

The formula was fine, easy enough to apply, though I was sloppy. It’s a bit on the watery side, as Essies tend to be. Dry time was average for me. Durability was not so good, at least with Julep Nail Therapy as my base coat, and chipped on the second day. Ah, well.

By the way, FYI, Wikipedia says: “Puce is the French word for flea. The color is said to be the color of the bloodstains remaining on linen or bedsheets, even after being laundered, from a flea’s droppings or after a flea has been crushed.”

Lovely, huh?

Leave a Reply

