Julep Tomi

I finally got around to polishing my nails for the first time in over two weeks! This week’s polish swatch: Julep Tomi, the Wonder Maven color from this month’s box. Here’s two coats, topped with Essie Good to Go top coat, in natural outdoor light (bright sunlight):

Tomi is a yummy blue-raspberry-Icee turquoise crelly with fine holographic shimmer. I already liked the color when I saw it in Julep’s preview and in the bottle, but once I put it on – BAM! – I was flooded with nostalgic flashbacks to my childhood, of wandering the mall with my parents and that delicious, unnaturally blue slushie in my little hands. I can virtually taste it. That holo sparkle (just there enough to cast a noticeable but not-too-in-your-face twinkle throughout) helps bring on the fond Icee memories, too. Love. ❤

The formula wasn’t bad. It’s easy to apply and reasonably opaque in two coats – just slightly transparent enough to give off that squishy jelly vibe and lend the shimmer some depth. I wish it dried a bit faster, though. I’d say dry time was a bit longer than average for me, but it’s not interminable like some other polishes I own. Quick-dry top coat helps a ton on the second coat!

…Seriously, it’s been almost two decades since I’ve had one, and I kind of want one of those blue Icees now.

Leave a Reply

