Julep Pepper

Quick swatch post: here’s two coats of Julep Pepper from my Maven box this month, topped with Essie Good to Go top coat, in outdoor natural light.

Pepper is described by Julep as a cornflower blue, which is pretty accurate in person, and it’s loaded with silver shimmer. Interestingly, it’s brighter and greener-leaning in the photo than it looks to me in person. It could be the purple/pink flash, but I find the polish looks more indigo in person – not dark, but definitely a bit of a deeper hue than my photos suggest. The dichroic/duochrome-y flash (which I think shifts from purple to cyan) is fairly subtle and shows a bit more in the bottle than on the nail. It mostly leans purple for me.

This second photo from another angle has more of the purplish blue I typically saw, but in person, it’s a bit cooler-toned than this.

Formula was easy to apply, but it dried infuriatingly slow, like Julep Shay. A fast-dry top coat helped, though I didn’t wait quite long enough, and at least one nail got dinged. Oh, well. Just a heads up in case you hate waiting for polish to dry, like me. Love the color, though.

Durability was okay but below average for me. I don’t know if it’s because I was on and off a plane and changing climates so many times while I had this polish on (since that dries and stresses out my skin and nails like crazy), or whether it’s because I didn’t wait long enough for it to dry when I applied it, but it started chipping significantly off after about two or three days. Not great, but since travel’s bound to beat up nails more than staying home, I’ll give it the benefit of the doubt for now.

Overall, not bad, but I wonder what’s with the long dry times on Julep’s recent polishes. Is it a particular pigment in the polish?

2 thoughts on “Julep Pepper

  1. Pingback: Julep Summer & Julep Regina | Lacquerfiend

  2. Pingback: Julep May 2016 (Rainbow Bright) Maven Box, part 2 of 2 | Lacquerfiend

Leave a Reply

