Julep Aubrey

Julep Aubrey is a color from September’s It Girl Maven box, labeled as a “[r]osewood shimmer.” The color’s hard to describe, but if I were to give it a shot, I’d say it looks like a dusty, rose-leaning deep grape to me; a little too purple for a rosewood color, at least to my eye. The finish is a frosty metallic shimmer, and brushstrokes do tend to show, but somehow it doesn’t look bad with this color. Maybe it’s just because it’s been compared to a wood that I expected the brush texture, but it doesn’t bother me with Aubrey.

Here’s two coats in direct outdoor sunlight, topped with Essie Good to Go top coat:

And in the shade:

And, finally, in a combination of indoor fluorescent lighting and sunlight coming in from a window:

In person, I find that it’s usually got the warmer tones of the first photo in direct sunlight, even in indirect light. Formula was easy to work with, opaque in two coats, and dried in average time – no complaints. Durability is excellent, too. At this point, I’ve worn this polish for almost a week – five days, at least – and it’s just showing some minor tip wear and no chipping, even with the usual beatings my fingertips get from rigorous piano playing.

I actually like the color a lot more than I expected: a little edgy, almost vampy in some lighting conditions, and unlike any other color in my collection. Overall, I give Aubrey a thumbs up.

Disclosure: This post contains one or more referral links. I don’t expect you to use my referral links unless you want to, of course, and they don’t affect me giving my honest opinion. Referrals go toward products reviewed on this site – thanks!

Leave a Reply

