Space nails! LynBDesigns Amazingly Unlikely & Time and Relative Dimension in Space

I’d been admiring LynBDesigns indie nail polishes from afar for a long time before recently taking the leap and picking up a bunch I’d been eyeing, including Amazingly Unlikely (3 coats on all nails except for ring) from the About a Galaxy collection and Time and Relative Dimension in Space (3 coats on ring finger) from the The Doctor is In collection.

This is day 2, topped with Essie Good to Go top coat in indirect natural light:

Words cannot adequately describe how much I love Amazingly Unlikely. It’s like a galaxy in a bottle! It’s described as a “blue jelly base with multichrome shifting from purple to blue to pink to gold, aqua holographic micro glitter and blue to purple fantasy flakies.” The shift on the nail mostly shows up as pink to blue for me, and the overall effect over the blue jelly base and metallic shimmer looks like a shift from royal blue to a deep red-purple:

Seriously gorgeous.

The formula is a little goopy and looks streaky on the first two coats, but it’s nicely opaque in three. I accidentally flooded my cuticle applying this polish, as the goopiness took me by surprise at first, but I had no issues with it once I got a feel for the consistency.

150726d

Time and Relative Dimension in Space (TARDIS <3) is described as “a deep blue jelly like base that has blue, silver, navy, and dark silver glitters suspended in it.” My particular bottle has such a deep navy-blue jelly base that it looks almost black. Based on swatches online, I’d expected a slightly bluer/brighter blue and maybe less uniform glitter visibility through the jelly base (more of a jelly-sandwich effect), but this is beautiful all the same – and still reminiscent of space and starry skies. It probably could have been opaque in two coats, but I did three thin coats for these photos.

Both polishes have a pretty standard round, square-tipped brush, which I had no problems with, and dry time for both was on the faster side of average for me.

Though the TARDIS polish was slightly different from what I expected, I still love both polishes – Amazingly Unlikely, especially – and am pleased with my first purchases from LynBDesigns. I’ll likely be swatching the rest of my haul in the coming weeks. 🙂

Any of you have favorite indie brands you’d like to recommend to me?

Durability & removal update 8/2/2015: Both polishes lasted a week with just some minor chipping on the index fingers. Removal was easy enough using the 10-minute soak off I usually do for glitters. I didn’t try wiping off earlier than 10 minutes, but Amazingly Unlikely removed so easily, it might not have required the entire 10 minutes. TARDIS was stickier and required a little extra cleanup after soaking and wiping off, but it wasn’t bad. I didn’t have any staining with a base coat.

One thought on “Space nails! LynBDesigns Amazingly Unlikely & Time and Relative Dimension in Space

  1. Pingback: Face-off: LynBDesigns Time and Relative Dimension in Space (TARDIS) vs. Essie Starry Starry Night (Retro Revival version) | Lacquerfiend

Leave a Reply

