Julep Shayla & Essie Good to Go Top Coat

Julep Shayla is one of the new, exclusive polish colors that came with Julep’s May 2015 Mystery Box, which I received a couple days ago. It arrived at a great time, since my last paint job was just starting to chip mightily.

Here’s three coats on day two of these nails (hence the slight tip wear), topped with Essie Good to Go top coat, in outdoor natural light (overcast):

Julep describes Shayla as a “[p]urple perennial full-coverage microglitter,” another one of those empty marketing phrases that really means next to nothing and doesn’t help me understand the color of the polish. (What kind of purple perennial? There are so many, and they’re very much not all the same purple! It also says nothing about the holo particles mixed in, which I think would’ve been a great selling point!)

To my eye, it looks like a clear base packed with a variety of microglitters, primarily grape purple and holographic – and the latter throws out fabulous rainbow sparkles in bright light! Also great: the overall mix of colors from the holo glitters helps create a fairly neutral impression of purple that I expect will probably look great with most/all skin tones and many outfits. I’m a fan.

No complaints about the formula. It dries faster than average to a matte finish, and though it seems to need at least three (thin) coats for reasonable opacity, it dries so fast that it shouldn’t be too much of a pain to slap on an extra coat or two. A shiny top coat helps bring out the best in this polish.

On another note, this is the second time I’ve used Essie Good to Go top coat now, and my experience so far is that it dries very fast to a glossy sheen that stays shiny pretty well, but it does seem to wear down quickly on the nail tips and doesn’t have the durability of Julep Freedom or Sally Hansen Miracle Gel top coat, two of my other go-tos. (My favorite used to be Seche Vite, which I still miss, but I stopped using it because it’s not toxin-free.) On my last paint job, Good to Go lasted about three days before chipping slightly and five days before chipping significantly, whereas Miracle Gel top coat can typically last a full week and Freedom almost a week on me.

Anyway, there you have it! This may be the last swatch post before ‘Fiend Jr. makes her grand debut, so if I’m MIA for a while, that’ll be the reason. :] Wish me luck! ❤

2 thoughts on “Julep Shayla & Essie Good to Go Top Coat

  1. Pingback: Julep May 2015 Mystery Box (Version 1) with Julep x Brika bag | Lacquerfiend

  2. Pingback: More Julep May 2015 Mystery Box swatches: Julep Bea, Julep Marcy, and Julep Marcella (plus Revlon Whimsical) | Lacquerfiend

Leave a Reply

