The Lady Varnishes The Werewolf Code

This week, I’ve been wearing The Werewolf Code from  The Lady Varnishes, from her Harry Potter-themed Where Everything is MagiCOOL collection. It’s a medium-dark gray-brown jelly liberally dosed with iridescent shimmer and glitter of varying sizes that shifts from green to blue. The color/effect combination is so interesting and really reminds me of labradorite, so I had to pick it up when I saw it in her Etsy store.

Here’s three coats in natural light, topped with Sally Hansen Miracle Gel Top Coat:

The sparkle is a little more focused in indoor fluorescent lighting (sorry for the dry skin, hehe):

Either way, it’s a lovely polish. Nothing to complain about with the formula, but it’s worth noting that the  glitters are so dense that you might want to take some extra care to watch out for glitter danglers at the nail tips. I had a couple that ended up causing premature chips later because I was a little careless in my usual excitement and impatience. I don’t blame that on the polish, though, since it’s easily fixed before drying. TWC goes on smoothly and dries very fast, though like with most jellies, I found it needed three coats for opacity.

I got my bottle with a fresh-cut rose scent, and phew, it’s powerful stuff! My hands still smell like roses almost a week later.

I found it interesting that TWC could maybe pass for an edgier work-appropriate color, since the dark taupe base is such a typical fall neutral, and the shimmer and glitter aren’t overpowering in person. I’m lucky that I can wear whatever color I want at work, but if your work’s borderline conservative, maybe this could still pass muster while not being too boring. ;]

Leave a Reply

