Julep Zora

I’m not usually a “work-appropriate” colors kind of girl – there’s just usually something flashier that catches my eye more – but somehow the mood struck me this week. For whatever reason, I was excited about Julep Fifi (“[t]ea time pink crème”) when it was announced as one of this month’s limited-edition colors. Something about that pale, cool, milk-glass pink just struck me, even though I’d guess there are many pinks like it out there. It didn’t hurt that they marketed it with the word tea. I’d been planning on wearing Fifi this week when it arrived, but because Julep made a shipping error and didn’t send me my Fifi (more on that at the end of the post), I had to find a different color to wear, and I still felt like pale pink.

Luckily, I had Julep Zora sitting around untried. It’s no Fifi (though the reviews on Fifi make me wonder if that might actually be a good thing), but it was as close to my color craving as anything in my current stash could get.

Here’s two coats on the ring and pinky fingers and three coats on the index and middle fingers, topped with Sally Hansen Miracle Gel Top Coat, in outdoor natural light:

Zora is a pale, slightly warm-leaning, ballet-slipper pink with a fine, silvery mica shimmer. The shimmer is pretty subtle, at least on me. I find that you can’t really see it much, like in the sunlit photo above, unless you look fairly closely and in stronger light. Usually, Zora looks to me like a creme, with maybe a hint of frost here and there.

I love the color, but I didn’t so much love the formula. It’s a little thick and doesn’t level well, so getting the polish to look even is a bit of a pain. Some thinner may fix that, but I haven’t tried it, myself. Because of uneven application and some bald spots, I tried three coats on the index and middle fingers, but you probably only need two, if you’re more careful than I was. The brush is flattened, slightly wide, and square-tipped, and it’s easy enough to use, though slightly clumsier for smaller nails. The dry time was a bit above average for me (hence the stupid ding on the middle finger). Overall, the formula could be better, but it’s not unworkable.

Here’s a shot in indoor fluorescent lighting to better show the shimmer texture, which does tend to show brushstrokes. Since it’s so subtle most of the time, though, it’s not really very bothersome.

Back to Fifi: I mentioned in my September 2014 Julep Maven box post that Julep had left Fifi out of my box, presumably by accident, since they didn’t say anything about it. When I contacted customer support, though, the reply I got back minimized their shipping error. It was a passive “we’re sorry to hear [your shipment] was incomplete,” rather than something acknowledging their mistake and communicating that they cared about me as a customer, like, say, “we’re sorry we didn’t ship you everything you ordered, and we’d really like to make it right.” To add insult to injury, I was then told they had run out of Fifi and would not be able to ship me the item they forgot to send me. They could not even guarantee that Fifi would ever become available again. I was offered either a different color or a refund, and that was it.

To be completely honest, I feel a bit slighted. It’s not that I want to demand anything more from Julep; I mean, I’m bursting at the seams with nail polish at all times. I’d just like to be treated like a valued customer, like I’m sure most people would, and I just don’t think this is the right way to respond to a customer when you’ve made an error that damaged that customer’s faith in you. If I were Julep, I’d have offered the alternate color or refund, as well as a nominal something or other just to apologize for 1) the shipping error, and 2) the inability to fulfill the customer’s shipment as ordered and paid for. Isn’t a customer’s goodwill worth that much, at least?

Okay, I’m done venting now.

To end on a lighter note, this is what Zora will always mean to me:

From Zeldapedia. Image source linked.

One thought on “Julep Zora

  1. Pingback: Julep Ava & Revlon Transforming Effects Nude Graffiti | Lacquerfiend

Leave a Reply

