Zoya Remy & The Lady Varnishes A Center for Ants!?

I don’t know about you guys, but I’m a big fan of Zoya’s Ignite collection for this fall. My favorites are Yuna, Remy, and India, in no particular order, though the only one I have so far is Remy.

Here’s Zoya Remy (two coats on the index and middle, one coat on the pinky for reference) and The Lady Varnishes A Center for Ants!? from this past spring’s Really Ridiculously Good Looking collection (three coats), topped with Sally Hansen Miracle Gel Top Coat, in natural outdoor light:

Remy is a heavily pigmented, deep peacock-blue jelly with dense glass-fleck shimmer that shifts from green to blue. As you can see, there’s not too much difference between applying one coat versus two, and it can maybe be fully opaque in one coat, if you’re careful. I still had some thinner patches at one coat, though, so I put on a second for good measure. I think the extra coat also adds more depth to  this polish, which is even more amazing in person.

I had no problems with the formula, which applied smoothly. The brush is pretty standard, and the dry time seemed average. The Miracle Gel Top Coat did cause some color transfer, even when the polish felt dry to the touch, though.

A Center for Ants!? is a milky, very pale yellow jelly/crelly base with gold shimmer and gold and silver hexes in various sizes – essentially a jelly sandwich in one bottle. It’s beautiful and such a classy color – one of those rare polishes that can be fun and interesting while also looking reasonably professional. I love the subtle effect of the glitters, especially as some of the silver hexes look almost matte white under a layer of the creamy base. The formula is a little thick, and the brush is on the wider and softer side, but I actually didn’t find it difficult to work with. The thicker consistency is great for glitter suspension, and no special glitter placement was necessary. Also, the dry time was pretty fast, which made up for needing three layers for opacity.

No color transfer from the Miracle Gel Top Coat with this one. Woot!

Also? I picked a jasmine scent for this polish, and it smelled wonderful for two days. On the third day, the smell’s fainter, but it’s still there if I sniff up close. :] (Yeah, I really don’t care if someone catches me sniffing my nails. I’m okay with appearing eccentric.)

I couldn’t capture Remy’s full jewel-toned shimmer depth in my photos; it’s much more vibrant in real life, especially in more intense lighting. A Center for Ants!? also has much more visible sparkly gold shimmer.

As per usual, the Miracle Gel Top Coat is holding up amazingly. It’s been three days with virtually no visible wear on either polish. It doesn’t have the glassy, candy-shell thickness of Seche Vite, and it’s got that pesky habit of picking up color when swiped over nail polishes dry to the touch, but it’s otherwise amazing and still my current favorite. Last I checked, it was $9.99 at CVS and can be cheaper if on sale and/or with a coupon. I highly recommend it if you’re looking for a new durable fast-dry top coat!

2 thoughts on “Zoya Remy & The Lady Varnishes A Center for Ants!?

  1. Pingback: Zoya India, Zoya Cyma & Revlon Hearts of Gold FX | Lacquerfiend

  2. Pingback: Julep Waleska | Lacquerfiend

Leave a Reply

