The Lady Varnishes Now I’m the Bad Guy

I’m still pretty new to collecting indie nail polishes, but, man, are there some amazing indie creations out there.

The Lady Varnishes is an indie brand that I stumbled on while browsing through Etsy, and besides the dazzling array of glittery colors, I was sold by the cute beaded star charms on each bottle and that these lacquers are scented!

Now I’m the Bad Guy was the August’s “Villain of the Month” polish, inspired by Mother Gothel from Disney’s Tangled. Here’s two coats, with one coat Nail-Aid Fast Dry Top Coat, which I’m trying out this week. Outdoor natural light:

10617195_646471055468415_2119064444_n

 

It’s possible my bottle of NItBG might be a bit different from the one shown in the shop listing photo, since it’s hand-mixed, but instead of coming out ruby red, mine looks more like a bright rose/fuchsia! I’d been hoping for that deeper ruby red I saw in the listing photo, but this is rather pretty, too. It’s a candy-bright jelly filled with multi-sized gold and iridescent glitters that really glow from inside the translucent base. Lovely.

I don’t have any complaints about the formula, which applied smoothly and didn’t require any fishing or special glitter placement. It’s reasonably opaque in two coats, and I tried three on some nails on my other hand (not shown), which deepened the color very slightly and added another layer of glitter complexity but otherwise didn’t change the look of the polish too much. The brush has a somewhat shorter stem and is a little softer than average, but it’s otherwise pretty standard and easy to use.

NItBG seemed to take slightly longer than average to dry for me. It dries to a nice semi-matte and has that squishy jelly look on its own, but clear top coat really brings out the glitters’ sparkle. I picked the sweet cherry cinnamon scent, and on the second day, I can still smell it pretty strongly. It smells like candy. Yum!

I ordered three other polishes (and got the Stabbington Brothers freebie mini) in the same order, so I’ll be posting swatches of those soon!

UPDATE 9/8/14: Whoops, this one was the cinnamon-scented one, not sweet cherry!

Leave a Reply

