Essie Mint Candy Apple

Ah, Essie Mint Candy Apple. It’s one of my favored Essie colors, even though it apparently sort of gives me lobster hands.

I’ve been wanting to write about this color for a while because I’ve found its actual color to be weirdly inconsistent. I don’t know if it’s just me, but I’ve definitely seen some bottles that look more like a light minty blue and others that look more like a light minty green. I’ve even brought my bottle (which I bought online) and compared it to other bottles in stores, and my bottle is definitely bluer than some other bottles of Mint Candy Apple. Most of the swatches I’ve seen online also look greener than mine. It confuses me.

Anyway, here’s my particular bottle, swatched and held against the Rainbow Dash My Little Pony figure on my desk, to demonstrate just how blue my Mint Candy Apple is:

Sure, the nail color is a little greener, but see how close the color is to Rainbow Dash’s? (For you non MLP fans, Rainbow Dash is definitely very blue and not green at all.) I’m telling you, my bottle of Mint Candy Apple is weirdly blue.

This photo in indirect natural light looks maybe a bit greener, but still not the mint green that I was shooting for when I ordered Mint Candy Apple:

Don’t get me wrong. This pale aquamarine color is nice, too, but it just looks nothing like what I think it’s supposed to. See? Here’s Essie’s own product shot:

Image from Essie.com. Source linked.

I mean, it’s just not the same color. Essie’s bottle shot looks pretty accurate based on the other swatches I’ve seen online, too. Why is my particular bottle so blue? I’ve also seen other bluer bottles, like mine, when closely studying this color in stores. Does anyone know? Did Essie change the color formula at some point? It’s not like this is an indie polish.

Anyway, the above photos show two coats of Mint Candy Apple topped with Julep Freedom top coat. The formula was a little thick and streaky on the first coat, but it mostly evened out on the second. Some nails on my other hand (not shown) needed three coats, though, since I applied a bit more clumsily with my less-dexterous hand. Not the smoothest formula I’ve ever worked with – it wasn’t super even without top coat, even with reasonably careful application – but it dried fast and wasn’t too difficult to handle in the end.

10 thoughts on “Essie Mint Candy Apple

  1. Pingback: ibd Just Gel Polish Siberian Minx | Lacquerfiend

  2. Sadly the polish changes colour as time goes by. Bought mine 2 years ago & it matched the colour if the product shot. Today it’s almost a baby blue. 😦

      • Hi. Mine too. At first i thought it was minty color, but as time goes by the color changes into light blue. But still i love essie 🙂

      • Hi, Fatima! It’s too bad about the color change! I’ve also heard others say that Essie changed the color formula later, and new bottles I’ve seen in stores do look blue like mine. Ah, well! I still enjoy Essie, too. :]

  3. Pingback: Essie Fashion Playground & Essie East Hampton Cottage | Lacquerfiend

  4. My MCA was definitely green when I bought a it, and then the next summer I put it on and it is 100% blue now. I compared it to a new bottle in the store and its night and day how different they are. So the colour definitely jus changes over time. Don’t get me wrong, the now blue shade is pretty… But I liked the mint ‘green’ and that’s why I bought it in the first place last year. Sucky.

Leave a Reply

