Julep May 2014 Maven Box: The Fresh Twist Collection, Bombshell (with promo codes)

I skipped last month’s box, so it feels like it’s been a while since I’ve reviewed a Julep Maven box. I went with the Bombshell selection this month.

julep140428

Pearlescent lavender tissue paper, ecru/cream scrunchy paper shreds, and:

  • a thank you note from Julep’s founder, Jane, for helping to fund the Plie Wand
  • quote of the month, from Coco Chanel: “The best color in the whole world is the one that looks good on you.”
  • 30%-off discount coupon for this month that only works on full-priced items (PERK30)
  • Fresh Twist collection intro card with a 25%-off code for Brilliance Glycolic Hand Scrub (BRILLIANT25)
  • instruction manual for the Plie Wand
  • the Plie Wand, which comes with one magnetic overcap already fitted with a typical Julep screw-on nail polish brush (as a demo, I guess)
  • two extra magnetic caps, one of which is already fitted with a typical Julep screw-on nail polish brush
  • Yumi, “[p]ink, silver and holographic glitter,” this month’s freebie – it’s apparently named after Jane’s daughter
  • Laree, “[g]olden pink taffeta shimmer,” one of the two Bombshell colors, and
  • Saaya, “[g]olden apricot shimmer,” the other Bombshell color

julep140428a

I didn’t have Yumi from before, and it looks like a fun color, so that’s pretty awesome. I’m looking forward to trying out Laree and Saaya later this week – or maybe this coming weekend, when I’m chillin’ at the beach with my lady friends, woot woot. ;] I’ll post swatches when I can.

julep140428b

This is the Plie Wand I was so curious about. I actually wasn’t entirely sure I wanted to get this at first, since I paint my nails perfectly well with my non-dominant hand without any fancy tools, but I like trying new things, and the engineer in me was curious if this was really going to be ground-breaking innovation. I also don’t have any nail art tools yet, so I got the wand partially so I could pick up the dotter and striper add-on (though those aren’t here yet – we were told they’d ship separately). If it’s more ergonomic for all kinds of nail art-related activities, all the better.

I haven’t tried the wand yet as of this writing, but from a quick inspection, the overall quality seems fine. It looks like the nail polish cap (the round one under the square Julep overcaps) fits very tightly inside the magnetic attachment, though. It’s so tight that I didn’t feel comfortable yanking too hard to see if I could remove the one already wedged into the magnetic overcap that comes with the wand, for fear I might break the brush or cap. I’d try screwing it onto a bottle to tug it off, but I don’t have any empty Julep bottles to try it with. I know that with this design, the fit’s got to be tight so the brush doesn’t fly off while you’re painting your nails, but I really wish it used some kind of release mechanism instead of mechanical friction to hold and easily release the polish caps. It’s probably a cost issue, I’d guess. Just some initial thoughts.

Also, the attached brush arrived with an…interesting hairstyle:

julep140428c

No biggie, since I probably won’t be actually using it (and I have several ideas how I might be able to fix it, if I do), but given that Julep isn’t an inexpensive brand, I kind of expect better. But, hey, they’re a start-up, stuff happens, and I’m pretty easygoing.

I’ll update this blog when I’m actually able to try the wand. I’m not going to have any expectations until I use it firsthand. Maybe it’ll be amazing. We’ll see!

One thought on “Julep May 2014 Maven Box: The Fresh Twist Collection, Bombshell (with promo codes)

  1. Pingback: Julep Laree & Saaya, plus Plie Wand review | Lacquerfiend

Leave a Reply

