Sally Hansen Satin Glam Chic Pink & Orly FX Milky Way

I wanted to swatch something bright and spring-colored this week, so I went with Sally Hansen Satin Glam Chic Pink and Orly FX Milky Way.

This is two coats of each, with Chic Pink on all nails except for Milky Way on the ring finger, no top coat on the Chic Pink and Seche Vite over Milky Way, in indirect sunlight:

And in direct sunlight, to better show the glass-fleck sparkle in Chic Pink:

Chic Pink is a pearlescent candy-pink jelly packed with fine glass-fleck shimmer. It dries to a yummy-looking squishy, matte texture that reminds me of gummy candies. At two coats, it’s still a little sheer, but I don’t mind. The formula is good, and the brush is a flattened, slightly wide type that I didn’t have any trouble using.

Sally Hansen’s Satin Glam polishes are in the same 0.33 fl. oz. teardrop-shaped bottles that the Lustre Shine polishes come in, except with a duller gray/silver cap. There are seven other colors in the series with a similar texture, too, but this is the only one I’ve picked up so far. I think this retails for about $6 at my local CVS, but I bought it with a coupon for significantly less.

Milky Way is from Orly’s spring 2014 Galaxy FX collection and looks to me like a milky cool-white base with turquoise micro glitter, small round orange glitter, and larger silver-white holo hex glitter. The formula on this one was weirdly chunky and stringy, at least from my bottle, but I didn’t have any problems applying it in the end. The glitters distributed pretty densely and evenly on their own and didn’t need too much dabbing.

I was really looking forward to the Galaxy FX polishes since late last year, but I had a little difficulty finding them in stores, even though they were supposed to be available since January this year. Thankfully, they were easy to find on the Internet – and for almost half the regular $9 or $10 each they normally retail for, at that.

Both polishes dry relatively fast and have managed to survive a normal day without noticeable chipping or tip wear so far. Not bad.

2 thoughts on “Sally Hansen Satin Glam Chic Pink & Orly FX Milky Way

Leave a Reply

