Face-off: Revlon Top Speed Crystal Glow vs. L’Oreal Bananarama Love

Woo! Third post of the night. Almost caught up now. I’ll try to make this a quickie.

Here’s a comparison of Revlon Top Speed Crystal Glow and L’Oreal Bananarama Love (from L’Oreal’s Miss Candy collection from summer 2013).

LF_140314

I really like yellow polishes, but I’m kind of picky about them. I ended up buying these polishes on the cheap on clearance (Crystal Glow for $2.99, and Bananarama Love for $2.39, or something like that) at different times because they both have that kind of lemony, banana-y, eggy yellow that looks yummy to me. I didn’t even know they were jellies (bonus!) at the time, but the color really attracted me.

Here’s four coats of Crystal Glow (index and ring) and four coats of Bananarama Love (middle and pinky), no top coat, in warm-white incandescent lighting:

As you can tell, they’re both very sheer, but Bananarama (middle and pinky) is way sheerer. They’re otherwise almost identical in color. It reminds me of Chinese egg tarts – yum! (I’m getting hungry just thinking about them.)

I’m drooling. (Image from Foodspotting.com, source linked.)

I really love the squishy, milky-acrylic jelly look, though the sheerness might not appeal to everyone, especially with how many coats it takes just to see the color. Both had average to somewhat long dry time, and even though I waited a long time between coats, by the third and fourth coat, the polish wasn’t really wanting to completely dry. I waited at least two or three hours before going to bed after painting my nails, but I guess it wasn’t enough. I even used my Julep Ta da! Quick Drops, which helped a bit but didn’t completely prevent the polish from smudging while I was sleeping.

In cool-white LED lighting (which makes my fingers look unnaturally purple!):

I bet these polishes would be great for jelly sandwiches. I’ll post some pictures if I try it one day.

Anyway, I think these polishes are similar enough that you don’t need both. They both take around four coats (and a lot more patience than I typically have) to look the way I like, but of the two, Crystal Glow gets my vote because it’s slightly more opaque.

Leave a Reply

