Julep Hannah

I decided to make a lengthier post about this polish because it’s such an interesting color: so easy to underappreciate but ultimately pretty amazing.

I mentioned that I had my initial qualms when I received Julep Hannah with my January 2014 Julep Maven Boho Glam box. The marketing text described Hannah as a “[s]age crème”, but in person, the color in the bottle looked more like a murky, slightly greenish khaki that didn’t especially appeal to me. Standing alone, it really doesn’t look that much like a sage green, which I’d always thought of as a slightly grayish green, not the mildly greenish variation of tan that I was seeing:

Julep Hannah official color swatch – pretty accurate.

I was prepared to be let down, but I was actually pleasantly surprised by how the sage green finally emerged against my skin tone, after three coats of Hannah (no top coat in these photos) – somewhat true to the Julep product shots, after all.

In cool-toned artificial indoor lighting, the green looks more intense:

Day 2, in outdoor natural light, shown with my homegrown pineapple sage plant for color reference:

LF_140128

I know pineapple sage isn’t the dusty green of regular culinary sage, but you can see how Hannah isn’t quite green in comparison. In fact, it’s closer to the color of the concrete planter, with just a touch of green, but it could pass as a sage green after all. For what looks like a swampy brown-gray-green on its own, it’s a surprisingly lovely color as a polish!

The finish is what I’d consider a crelly – somewhere between a creme and a jelly – and has a delicate translucency that reminds me of milk glass. The consistency is a bit sticky and remains a bit sheer even when applied more thickly, but it’s not the worst to work with. It was definitely not evenly opaque after two coats, though, and even after three coats, it’s still got some balder spots if you look carefully. Overall, the formula was okay, though admittedly not my favorite because of its tendency to encourage bald spots. The color is surprisingly flattering against skin, though – I expect it’d be flattering on a variety of skin tones, if not all complexions – and I like it a heck of a lot better than I expected.

LF_140128b

This polish reminds me of what I said to my sisters when I first told them what I thought of Julep. Though I find Julep tends to err on the conservative, work-appropriate side, I think their strength is in subtle polishes like Hannah that may not look especially eye-catching on first glance (at least to a person like me who loves their garish colors and finishes) but that surprise with their versatility and how well they compliment a variety of skin tones.

A couple other Julep colors that have struck me as interesting for similar reasons are Simone and Leila. Both of these polishes disappointed me at first because their advertised opalescent shimmer was hardly visible on the nail, but I discovered upon wearing them that the almost-invisible opalescent shimmer allowed these colors to gracefully adapt to a variety of outfit and complexion colors, due to the discreet color shifts from that hidden shimmer. Amazing.

Anyway, that’s what sold me on Julep in the first place and why I’m still a Maven. If you’d like to try their monthly subscription for free, you can use the code FREEBOX for a first free Maven box, and as always, you’re welcome to use my referral link, if you’d like to send some love my way.

P.S. I did try the Ta Da! Quick Dry Drops with this polish, and again, I supposed it might have helped a little, but even after following the bottle directions and then waiting another three minutes after the drops, I still got dings and gouges in my polish. I think I’ll continue sticking with my quick-dry top coats when I’m not using any special finishes.

Both products are priced at $14.00 regular and $11.20 for Mavens.

One thought on “Julep Hannah

  1. Pingback: Julep January 2014 Maven box: The Boudoir Collection, Boho Glam | Lacquerfiend

Leave a Reply

