Face-off: Revlon Parfumerie Autumn Spice vs. Julep Jillian

Ever since I first caught wind of the Revlon Parfumerie collection, I’ve had my eye on a few of the colors. The fun, old-school bottle design and scent gimmick were enough to get me interested, but there are some interesting colors in there, too.

LF_131204

Revlon Parfumerie Autumn Spice ($5.99 at CVS) was on the top of my list and seems hardest to find, probably because it’s awesome, and everyone seems to want it. My CVS got them a little late, and I was lucky enough to snag the last bottle off the display yesterday. By chance, my Julep Maven box for this month also came in yesterday, and I noticed Julep Jillian ($14 regular, $11.20 Maven) surprisingly had some similarities to Autumn Spice, so I decided to do a direct comparison.

LF_131204b

I didn’t expect these two to be anything alike based on Julep’s product photos and swatches of Autumn Spice I’d seen around the blogosphere, but both polishes have a lovely dichroic purple-to-gold effect and, in warmer lighting, look pretty close in color. The most obvious difference is that Autumn Spice has a flakier, sparklier texture; it looks kind of like a glass fleck finish to me. Jillian is a smoother, fine shimmer in a translucent black base. In whiter light, Autumn Spice reads primarily like a spicy coffee brown to burgundy with gold flakes, while Jillian is often cooler-toned and purpler, closer to the eggplant Julep describes it as.

Anyway, on to the pictures so you can judge for yourself.

In bright indoor lighting (a warm white), the colors looked most similar. My index and ring fingers are Autumn Spice, while my middle and pinky fingers are Jillian:

In softer, whiter indoor lighting, they begin looking more different from each other:

In indirect sunlight with a splash of indoor lighting, the difference in color is maybe a little more apparent. This photo was taken on the second day. There’s some pretty noticeable tip wear, but that typically happens with me within a day, even with wrapping the tips, so it doesn’t really say anything especial about the durability of the polish. Your mileage may vary. Also, feel free to ignore the shimmer lotion. :]

By the way, Autumn Spice has a pleasant spiced apple cider smell. It’s subtle, but it comes through even with top coat over it, and it’s still smelling pretty good on the second day, after two showers. The sharper spiciness of the initial scent is fading, though, leaving more of the sweet undertone behind. I should probably stop sniffing my nails in public, eh?

Anyway, I had no problems with the formula on either of these, and they both became nicely opaque in two coats, as pictured above. I used Seche Vite over both polishes in my photos.

So, there you have it. Autumn Spice and Jillian aren’t super alike, but they’ve definitely got a little bit of similar awesomeness going on. I’d recommend them both, though I think, of these two, Autumn Spice has my heart. What do you think? Are you eyeing any other Revlon Parfumerie colors like I am? (I picked up Wintermint, but I still need Italian Leather, at the least!)

3 thoughts on “Face-off: Revlon Parfumerie Autumn Spice vs. Julep Jillian

  1. I just picked some of these up today! I picked up Fresh Linens, Lavender Soap, Autumn Spice, and Bordeux. I like them! I want to try Wintermint, Moonlit Woods, and Balsamic Fir as well. (Okay all of them!)

    • Do they all wear well? I picked up Italian Leather since that last post, but I haven’t worn it yet. I may end up collecting more of them, like you’ve been doing. The smells are fun!

  2. Pingback: Revlon Parfumerie Wintermint & Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Mint Sorbet with Julep Gloria | Lacquerfiend

Leave a Reply

