Essie Cashmere Bathrobe & Hors d’Oeuvres

Essie Cashmere Bathrobe, from Essie’s fall collection this year, two coats. It’s a dark cool-toned gray with subtle fine silver shimmer. I have a lot of grays because I love them, but the barely-there wink of silver in this one sets it apart. The formula is so smooth and easy to control – I was able to do this while struggling with the hunger shakes, if that tells you anything! I had some balding on the first coat, but it’s evenly opaque in two. Dries pretty fast, too. I’m a fan.

I added two coats of Essie Hors d’Oeuvres on the ring finger. It’s from this winter’s new Encrusted Treasures collection, and it’s a clear base packed with silvery gold micro glitter and larger round and hex silver glitters. Reminds me of bubbly champagne. The formula’s a little watery, especially for a glitter, so I had some accidental pooling on the side of the nail that you can see in the photo (oops), but it’s not bad to work with once you know its consistency. In fact, the glitter’s dense enough that the usual dab technique wasn’t really necessary. It also dries almost smooth, especially for a glitter, even without top coat. This polish makes me think of New Year’s or Christmas tinsel. Fun!

I’m so happy Essie’s making more interesting polishes these days. I used to pass them up a lot because other brands had sparklier polishes that caught my eye first, but Encrusted Treasures surprised me when I saw them at Ulta a couple weeks ago. Textured polishes and complex glitters from Essie? Awesome.

P.S. I hear Maybelline Color Show has some new “brocade” glittersΒ in a similar vein to Hors d’Oeuvres and the Sephora Formula X Sparklers that look pretty sweet. I think I’m going to go hunt those down next!

One thought on “Essie Cashmere Bathrobe & Hors d’Oeuvres

  1. Pingback: Christmas nail art fail! (plus Zoya PixieDust Chita and Zoya Logan) | Lacquerfiend

Leave a Reply

