China Glaze Howl You Doin’

2 coats China Glaze Howl You Doin’ (from China Glaze’s Halloween 2013 collection, Monsters Ball) on all fingers, except 3 coats on the middle finger, just to see how the opacity would build up. Topped with 1 coat of Seche Vite. I left a bald spot on the ring finger so you can see how the base jelly of the polish is a pretty grape purple, though it layers to an almost black when opaque, if you don’t look carefully. This photo was taken on day 2.

I hear around the blogosphere that Howl You Doin’ is kind of similar to Orly Fowl Play and OPI Merry Midnight, though they’re definitely not exact duplicates. I don’t own the other two, so I’ve never tried them, but you can see a pretty good comparison at the links I’ve posted. Howl You Doin’, like I mentioned, is a deep grape purple jelly chock full of what looks to me like purple-blue (blurple) micro glitter and coppery orange flakes. It’s a bit translucent and builds up to full opacity in 2-3 coats, depending on how thickly you paint it on, but the color shows better when it’s still a bit sheer at 2 thin coats. It dries pretty gritty, both to touch and sight, and requires top coat to make the most out of the glitteriness.

It’s now the end of day 3, and I’ve sort of got mixed feelings on this polish. I definitely like the deep purple of the base and the overall concept of the polish, and it applies well enough, but the glitter and flakes don’t seem to pop for me, and I kind of prefer the color of the base when it’s not fully opaque. I think I might have liked it better with an additional coat of top coat, but results I’ve seen across the web seem to be kind of similar, regardless. Just from looking at other bloggers’ comparisons, I might like Merry Midnight the best of the three cousins. Still, Howl You Doin’ is nice in a murkier sort of stealth-glitter way. I’m also having some chipping issues with this polish. Granted, I’m pretty tough on my nails, but this polish started chipping after 2 days and had some pretty major chips by day 3. In comparison, last week’s lacquer (Orly Nite Owl, etc.) lasted a week without any significant chipping with the same activity level. I still like it overall and may try it again with a different base coat and more top coat to see if that improves things.

Leave a Reply

