Julep January 2014 Maven box: The Boudoir Collection, Boho Glam

I didn’t expect to make a second blog post today, but my January 2014 Julep Maven box arrived earlier than expected. I almost skipped this month, but I ended up going with the Boho Glam box because my husband was in love with the sage green creme, Hannah.

Here’s my box, as usual, packaged very nicely. The dove-gray scrunchy paper and pearly blush tissue paper look pretty snazzy together.

julep131230

The Boho Glam box had the Ta Da! Quick Dry Drops, Hannah (the sage creme), and Noelle (“[s]andy beach silk”). The bonus item, those spongy orange things on the right, looks like maybe nail buffing blocks to me, though I’m not 100% sure because the package didn’t say. They’re stiff and rough, so that’s my best guess. The card also includes a 10% off code (it’s cuticle10) for buying Vanish Cuticle Softener & Remover and Julep’s cuticle pusher. The usual inspirational quote square insert doesn’t have an inspirational quote this time: it just says “2014 will be my year.” I got Margot (“Old Hollywood gold shimmer”) as an add-on, partially because I love gold foils and partially because I was curious about something (read on).

julep131230b

I haven’t tried the quick dry drops yet, though I figured they’d come in handy, since I’m very impatient. I’m looking forward to trying Noelle, the silk-finish polish (which Julep describes as “semi-matte with a hint of opalescence”), but I’m actually a little uncertain about Hannah. The sage green looks much more vibrant in Julep’s product shots than it does in person. If you thought my photo made the green look a little desaturated, kind of grayish with a hint of khaki, that’s not because the colors are off in the image; it really is sort of brownish in person. I’m going to withhold final judgment until I actually put it on, though. I’ll post swatches when I do.

(UPDATE 1/6/14: I’ve now swatched Sienna and Margot together for your reference pleasure.)

(UPDATE 1/15/14: Here are my swatches for Noelle and comments on the Ta Da! Quick Dry Drops.)

(UPDATE 1/28/14: I’ve now swatched Hannah, as well.)

julep131230c

Meanwhile, Margot is the first color I’ve gotten from Julep that is almost identical to a previous color, at least in the bottle. I’ll post a face-off later, to compare it on the nail. Meanwhile, check out these photos. As I suspected from seeing the preview photos, it looks like a near-dupe of Sienna in the bottle.

julep131230d

Sienna is just slightly paler and more greenish/cooler-toned than Margot, which has a more saturated color in comparison, but they’re otherwise almost identical. (Feel free to ignore the rose-tinged liquid at the top of Sienna; the polish had settled a bit and separated, but I shook up the bottle for the next two photos.) I’m pretty sure most people couldn’t tell these two apart if they weren’t right next to each other. I put Zelda next to the two, just as a reference point; it’s obviously much pinker-toned.

Close-up in shade:

julep131230e

Close-up in full sun:

julep131230f

Yep, pretty similar. You probably don’t need both (again, to be confirmed after swatching), but my burning need to compare these two polishes came first, so I hope this post helps someone. :]

Did you get this month’s Maven box, and if so, how did you like it?

2 thoughts on “Julep January 2014 Maven box: The Boudoir Collection, Boho Glam

  1. Pingback: Face-off: Julep Margot vs. Julep Sienna | Lacquerfiend

  2. Pingback: Julep Hannah | Lacquerfiend

Leave a Reply

